• SportsGrad
  • Posts
  • How an International Student got a dream job at Cricket Australia

How an International Student got a dream job at Cricket Australia

An interview with Sekhar Sridhar about how he made his way from India to Australia to land a dream job in Cricket

Hello friends! 👋

Welcome to this ✨  free edition ✨  of the SportsGrad Newsletter. Each week we take a deep dive into ‘how to get a job in sport’.

Meet Sekhar Sridhar, Customer Support Coordinator at Cricket Australia.

Sekhar was one of the first 10 people to become a SportsGrad Member in 2020. Over the last 3 years, very few people have reaped the rewards of consistent hard work as much as Sekhar has, just see the list of experiences on his LinkedIn!

Since this blog was first published, Sekhar picked up roles at the Men's T20 World Cup 2022 after attending the Members only Job Fair with the T20 World Cup. And now, he has just been rewarded with a contract extension in his Customer Support Coordinator role with Cricket Australia from June 2022 until the end of the 2023/24 summer of cricket.

This is how Sekhar got his dream job 👇

I commenced my Masters in Sport Management from Deakin Uni in March 2020 and wanted to work part-time in sport event management for the duration of my studies. The sports and event industries came to a standstill due to the pandemic-induced lockdowns and my situation changed from a happy problem of plenty to a desperate search for opportunities.

In May, Reuben came calling with SportsGrad and I latched on to it immediately after seeing that it was about jobs in sport. I used the podcast to build knowledge and gather insights to be prepared to seize any opportunity. Having gained something out of all SportsGrad resources, I had no hesitation in joining the SportsGrad Community when it was launched.

The ultimate benefit I got from joining the Community was getting access to the hidden job market and getting my foot in multiple doors. 

Just two months after becoming a Community Member, I got the opportunity to assist at the Australian Henley Regatta, Melbourne’s annual rowing event on the Yarra river. I had no prior experience in rowing but the AHR team gave me the chance to learn. Fast forward to September…

I was able to get my foot in the door of Cricket Australia as a Production Coordinator two months before graduation.

Webinars and other online resources have only fortified my job search efforts, while the networking tools helped me streamline my approach which used to be random and all over the place.

My current Cricket Australia role as Customer Support Coordinator came through the SportsGrad community. 

I found a couple of volunteering opportunities with Ironman Oceania too through the community. Above all I have been able to network with some amazing people who support and challenge me to keep getting better. I am able to network much better than I used to and the quality of my professional network has been enhanced as well.

Being a SportsGrad member makes me feel part of a unique group of people connected by the theme of ‘working in sport’. I feel more comfortable opening up to new people and asking for help, both of which I used to struggle with in the past due to my introverted nature. As much as I have gained, and continue to gain, from the community, I am excited to be giving back by helping other grads to the best of my abilities. In short, I consider the SportsGrad community to be my support network.

I would recommend the community to people who are looking to enter the sport industry from other industries. I myself am one who was working in furniture sales before entering the sport industry in 2016. The people I approached back then for help showed me possible pathways and 7 years later I want to pay it forward to those who are keen on entering Australia’s golden decade of sport.

Want to land an awesome job in sport?

The SportsGrad Community makes it 1000x easier to land a dream job.

Join over 550+ Members enjoying...​

🤝  Sports Industry Network: Grow your network in sport and learn from over 500+ like-minded Members from 50+ organisations in a private Discord group

 🤫 Exclusive Job Board: The hidden job market lives in the SportsGrad Community, remove the competition with access to unadvertised roles

💬 Talk to Recruiters: Chat directly to the sports recruiting, get your name out there, and become memorable with companies hiring via Virtual Job Fairs

📚 Premium Resources: Access our library of Masterclasses to learn exactly how others have made it in the sports industry and what companies hire for

🗣 Speed Networking: Grow your network rapidly without sending a single ‘unseen’ cold message

🤑 Discount on Events: Get discounted prices to SportsGrad Meetups featuring panels and sporting events, plus discounts from our partner brands

🔥 Sports Jobs

Looking for a new gig?

Become a SportsGrad Member to access exclusive job opportunities at over 50+ partner organisations who we help recruit for.

P.S. Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways we can help you:

  1. Grow your network in the sports industry with like-minded peers and professionals at our Meetup Events

  2. Join over 550+ Members who have landed 400+ roles in sport in the SportsGrad Community and get exclusive jobs, resources, events and discounts.

  3. Grow your team with young guns in half the time and at a fraction of the cost. Post a job or let us recruit for you