How to get a job in sport (without getting lucky)

Save yourself hours of research, I’ve distilled the actions 150+ professionals took into 8 steps.

I’ve interviewed over 150+ people about how they got their job on The SportsGrad Podcast.

This taught me LOTS about career paths into the sports industry.

Save yourself 150 hours of research, I’ve distilled the actions these professionals took into 8 steps.

No matter if you’ve just left high school, or are looking to change industries after 20 years. These steps apply from any starting point.

Each action references a professional’s journey into sport. If something sticks out to you, dive into the interview and learn directly from the industry professional.

1. Take time to discover WHY you want to work in sport. A clear vision is more attractive than a skillset

The quote: “I made a declaration at the age of 15, I am going to work for the MLS”

The learning: Neel’s life experience made working for the MLS meaningful to him. Because of this, he was able to clearly articulate compelling reasons to them, which landed him the job.

2. When you’re starting out, acquire easily attainable opportunities at grassroots clubs, charities, and University societies

The quote: “Can I be the S&C coach? I reckon we can do this better… Always good when you can make up your own title”

The learning: Nobody at Gav’s grassroots club stopped his initiative because there was no application process. He saw an opportunity and ran with it. This gave him examples to talk about.

3. Learn to create examples. Learn to sell yourself. If you can do both you will climb rungs.

The quote: “Come knowing as much about yourself as you can… reference your experience more so than talking about how great you are”

The learning: When you’re in an interview, it’s more compelling to show than tell.

But that’s just one way of selling yourself… how about all year round?

The quote: “How do you stay top of mind from a marketing perspective? My strategy was, I put together a little email blast”

The learning: People will keep a list of candidates in their mind in case they need them. How’d they get there? They were consistently impressive.



4. Invest time mixing socially with the types of people who will hire you. If you can thrive here, you have ticked ‘cultural fit’.

The quote: “I met my manager at a going away party”

The learning: Eliza’s relationship with her internship manager was important for her to land the full-time role.

5. LinkedIn allows you to publish your resume in 1000 different ways at scale. Most people haven’t figured this out.

The quote: “When you’re sharing progress through that platform, you’re connecting with people right across the world”

The learning: Exposure for people to know what you’re doing and how you’re doing it grows exponentially online. Send 1 resume, get read by 1 person. Post once to LinkedIn, get read by 1000 people.

6. Get comfortable talking to people you don’t know. Opportunity exists in circles of people who trust each other, and you are welcome to join those circles.

The quote: “It’s (the hidden job market) people offering jobs to people in positions because they have historical evidence of what they know they’ve done”

The learning: It’s all based on trust. Then the question becomes, how do I introduce myself and build trust?

Here’s Armaan again…

The quote: “I researched everyone that existed in the partnerships realm and put them in a big excel spreadsheet… then I sent a bunch of tailored cold emails with something unique about them”

The learning: A strong network doesn’t happen overnight or by accident. You have to work for it. But what networking does is: give you a chance.

7. Discover your career path by pursuing your genuine curiosity.

The quote: “I didn’t necessarily follow my passion, I followed my curiosity. I saw this as an element of a way to express myself, and think and challenge myself in new ways… It’s been a great synergy for me to be successful.”

The learning: Success comes from the enjoyment of solving the types of challenges you want to solve. Do this as opposed to what you think you enjoy because it looks cool.


8. Invest so much time that it worries you if it will all be worth it. That’s when you know you’re on the right track.

This one’s from me.

In March 2017, after I had just accepted my 7th volunteer role (no exaggeration), a friend said to me…

“Is this one actually going to pay you?”

I replied, “no, but someday, someone will.”

Despite smiling like it was all fine, there were so many times in uni when I felt like all the effort would amount to nothing.

Many times I feared I'd fall into any old job that just enabled me to get by.

But on the Monday after my final exam, I landed a dream job at Cricket Australia.

A few years later, I was travelling the country with the New Zealand and UAE cricket teams as part of the ICC T20 World Cup Australia.

Both jobs gave me memories I'll carry forever and made the uni grind entirely worth it.

The learning: If you're currently chasing a dream job and feeling frustrated by the grind, or if you've graduated but still job-hunting and thinking about the 3 years of study and debt for no return.

The reality is, you are constantly building your skills and networks.

You're constantly building your capability.

The more you put in, the closer you are to someone seeing your potential.

But when 600+ people apply for a single role in sport, if you don't want to leave your career to chance... keep pushing until you become so good they can't ignore you.

Reuben

Want to land an awesome job in sport?

The SportsGrad Community makes it 1000x easier to land a dream job.

Join over 500+ Members enjoying...​

🤝  Sports Industry Network: Grow your network in sport and learn from over 500+ like-minded Members from 50+ organisations in a private Discord group

 🤫 Exclusive Job Board: The hidden job market lives in the SportsGrad Community, remove the competition with access to unadvertised roles

💬 Talk to Recruiters: Chat directly to the sports recruiting, get your name out there, and become memorable with companies hiring via Virtual Job Fairs

📚 Premium Resources: Access our library of Masterclasses to learn exactly how others have made it in the sports industry and what companies hire for

🗣 Speed Networking: Grow your network rapidly without sending a single ‘unseen’ cold message

🤑 Discount on Events: Get discounted prices to SportsGrad Meetups featuring panels and sporting events, plus discounts from our partner brands

🔥 Sports Jobs

Looking for a new gig?

Become a SportsGrad Member to access exclusive job opportunities at over 50+ partner organisations who we help recruit for.

Meet people in the sports industry 🤝

Grow your network with like-minded peers and professionals in sport at our in-person Meetup events.

P.S. Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways we can help you:

  1. Grow your network in the sports industry with like-minded peers and professionals at our Meetup Events

  2. Join over 500+ Members who have landed 370+ roles in sport in the SportsGrad Community and get exclusive jobs, resources, events and discounts.

  3. Grow your team with young guns in half the time and at a fraction of the cost. Post a job or let us recruit for you